Mater Christi School

35 Hurst Avenue, Albany NY  12208 | Phone: 518.489.3111 | Fax: 518.489.5865

Mater Christi School

35 Hurst Avenue
Albany, NY  12208
Phone: 518.489.3111
Fax: 518.489.5865


Faculty & Staff

Preschool

Teacher: Ms. Lindsey Albert

Degree(s): BS in Early Childhood/Special Education, The College of Saint Rose

Started at MCS:  September, 2018

Email:  albert@materchristischool.org

 


Teacher: Mrs. Sherri Simonsen

Degree(s): BS in Elementary Education (preschool-grade 8), Central Connecticut State University

MS in Remedial Reading, Central CT State University

Started at MCS: September, 2010

Email: simonsen@materchristischool.org

Mrs. Sherri Simonsen

Kindergarten

Teacher: Mrs. Kim Grieco-Smith

Degree(s): MS in Literacy B-6, The College of Saint Rose

Certified in Childhood Education 1-6, Early Childhood Education B-2 and Literacy B-2.

Started at MCS: September, 2016

Email: grieco@materchristischool.org

 

First grade

Teacher: Mrs. Lori Layton

Degree(s): BA in Liberal Studies, Cazenovia College

MA in Liberal Studies with a concentration in English, SUNY Albany

Started at MCS:  September, 2016

Email: layton@materchristischool.org


 

Second grade

Teacher: Ms. Megan Planz

Degree(s):AAS in Liberal Arts, Hudson Valley Community College

BS in Elementary and Special Education, The College of Saint Rose

MS in Literacy, The College of Saint Rose

Started at MCS: September, 2017

Email:  planz@materchristischool.org

 

 

Third grade

Teacher: Mrs. Bridget Fratianni

Degree(s): BS in Education, The College of Saint Rose

MS in Educational Psychology, The College of Saint Rose

Started at MCS: September, 2004

Email: fratianni@materchristischool.org

Teacher: Mrs. Bridget Fratianni

Fourth grade

Teacher: Ms. Margaret Walsh

Degree(s): AA in Liberal Arts, Hudson Valley Community College

BS in Education, SUNY at Oneonta

MS in Reading, SUNY at Albany

Started at MCS: September, 1984

Email: walsh@materchristischool.org

Teacher: Ms. Margaret Walsh

Fifth grade

Teacher: Mrs. Michelle Graham

Degree(s): BS in Elementary Education, SUNY at Oneonta

MS in Elementary Education, SUNY at Oneonta

Started at MCS: September, 2014

Email: graham@materchristischool.org

 

Assistant Principal

 

 Assistant Principal:  Sr. Deborah Timmis, CSJ

 Degree(s): BA in Religious Studies, Chaminade University

 MS in Technology and Education, Teachers' College of Columbia University

 School Building Administration Certification, The College of Saint Rose (currently pursuing)

 Started at MCS:  September, 2018

 Email:  timmis@materchristischool.org


 

 

Sixth grade

Teacher: Ms. Karla Guererri

Degree(s): BA in Social Studies, SUNY at Albany

MS in Literacy, SUNY at Albany

Subjects taught: 6th grade homeroom, 6-8 ELA, 6-8 Literature/Social Studies/Technology

Started at MCS: September, 2017

Email: guererri@materchristischool.org

 

Seventh grade

  

Teacher: Ms. Christa Strain

Degree(s): BA in Environmental Studies and Anthropology, Binghamton University

     Certificate in International Studies, Binghamton University

MS in Education with a concentration in International Education, Framingham State University

     Certificate in Catholic Religious Studies, Liverpool Hope University

Subjects taught: 7th grade homeroom, 5th-9th grade science

Started at MCS: December, 2017

Email: strain@materchristischool.org

 

 

 
  

Eighth grade

Teacher:  Mrs. Janice Jackson

Degree(s): BS in Special Education, The College of Saint Rose

MS in Educational Psychology, The College of Saint Rose

Grades taught:  8th grade homeroom, 5th-8th grade religion

Started at MCS:  September, 2014

Email: jackson@materchristischool.org

Middle school math

Teacher: Mrs. Michele Saxe

Degree(s): BS in Mathematics and Economics, SUNY at Binghamton

MS in Adolescent Education, The College of Saint Rose

Subjects taught: 6th-9th grade math

Started at MCS: September, 2008

Email: saxe@materchristischool.org

Teacher: Mrs. Michele Saxe

 

 

Spanish

Teacher:  Mrs. Maria Soledad Pauli

Degree(s): BA in English, Facultad de lenyuas, Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Cba, Argentina

Grades taught:  PK4-8th grade Spanish

Started at MCS:  September, 2017

Email: pauli@materchristischool.org

 

    

 

Social Studies/Technology

Teacher: Mrs. Tammy Crasto

Degree(s): BS in Computer Information Systems/Business Administration and Management, The College of Saint Rose

MS in Educational Technology Specialist, The College of Saint Rose

Grades/Subjects taught: Social Studies/Literature/Technology 6-8,

Kindergarten-2nd grade technology

Started at MCS: September, 2010

Email: crasto@materchristischool.org

Teacher: Mrs. Tammy Crasto

Physical Education

Teacher: Mrs. Nancy Hogan

Degree(s): BS in Exercise and Sports Science, Russell Sage College

Grades taught:  PK4-8th grade physical education, 8th grade homeroom

Started at MCS: October, 1992

Email: hogan@materchristischool.org

Teacher: Mrs. Nancy Hogan

Music

Teacher: Mrs. Andrea Reno

Degree(s): B.M. Music Education, Temple University 

Grades taught: Preschool - 5th grade music

Started at MCS: September, 2018

Email: reno@materchristischool.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Teacher: Mr. Christopher Doody

Degree(s): BS in Elementary and Early Secondary Education, SUNY Cortland

Grades taught: 6th-8th grade music

Started at MCS: September, 2007

Email: doody@materchristischool.org

Teacher: Mr. Christopher Doody

Library

Teacher:

Degree(s):

 

Started at MCS:

Email:

 

Art

Teacher: Mrs. Salma Kaniz Sinha

Degree(s): BS in Fine Arts, Institute of Fine Arts, Dhaka, Bangladesh                

MS in Art Education, The College of Saint Rose

Grades taught:  PK4-8th grade art

Started at MCS: December, 2015

Email: sinha@materchristischool.org

 


Home | About | Admissions | Academics | Programs | My MCS | Alumni | Supporting MCS | Teacher Login | Contact Us

© 2012 - 2018 Mater Christi School, 35 Hurst Avenue, Albany, NY 12208
Phone: 518.489.3111 | Fax: 518.489.5865

A School of the ROMAN CATHOLIC DIOCESE of ALBANY
Facebook

Website design by Lehman Graphic Arts and developed by Nolee-O Web Design